maxvel's markups

photos

This page lists all the tags being used in the blog so that the posts can be easily navigated. In other words, this page satisfies my perpetual need to look back at my past and laugh at my stupidity!

Read more...

Well, this morning, I woke up to a shock because, my archive of photos and videos amounting to 15GB’s had been mysteriously disappeared. This happened while I was testing Photoprism and Seafile on my self hosted setup after this post. I was migrating my photos and videos from Nextcloud to Photoprism from WebDav. It caught me off-guard and this is just a note I want to make so that I can look back and laugh at my stupidity!

Read more...

I loved Nextcloud. Still do.. But there are certain things that concerns me being somebody who likes to self-host almost every service under my own nest. This month I was thinking seriously about usability and convenience, asking myself questions like,

“The efforts that I’m putting into self hosting and maintaining xyz service on my RaspberryPi really worth it? Or should I move to some other service or create an account in somebody else’s self hosted setup?”

After this self-introspection, it occurred to me that there are a few changes I had to make in my self hosted setup, and this is a result of a lot of brainstorming related to it.

Read more...